Skip to content

Like, Totally Gross Me Out

06-22-09

Just hangin' out

When you work in a restaurant with people, you start to get really comfortable around them.

Now in month 3 of  waiting tables, this new lack of boundaries  is completely horrifying to me.

Two recent examples of “TMI” :

— Standing in “line up” (the pre-shift meeting where our managers tell us the specials of the night and critique our uniforms…aka the times I most want to die) one of the waiters turns to me and says “I need to get out of here early tonight, want to switch sections?” I respond, “Ummm no, I want to leave early too”. He then says, with a nudge and a wink, “Well, my wife said that if I get home early I will be rewarded”. Swallowing the bile rising in my throat, I respond with, “I have no idea what to say to that”. He rolls his eyes and retorts, “Whatever. If I was single you’d be like ‘high five for getting laid'”. I stared at him blankly and said, “No, I wouldnt.” He then says, “Yeah right, you totally would.” The only way I could end this train wreck of a convo was to mumble, “This entire conversation is several shades of inapproriate…”

and scene.

— Yesterday, one of the waiters asked me to scratch his back. I almost barfed. When I came back into the kitchen I saw he had found a way to itch the scratch without my help. He was using a fork. Quite the resourceful bunch we have there, eh?

Allllll a day in the life. Jealous?

Regretfully Yours,

Bob.

Listening to: Me butcher “The heart of Life” by John Mayer on my guitar.

On my mind: Maybe I’ll buy a scooter instead of a car this fall. Hmmm.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 07-08-09 12:00 pm

    hahahaha. THis post made my day!

    Good Luck

  2. 07-26-09 8:46 am

    these restaurant posts are making me nervous… i start as a hostess on tuesday.

    I guess my blog won’t go unwritten, though!

Leave a Reply

