Skip to content

A Dedication to My New Gig

05-11-09

Allow me to set the scene for my newest song.

The third in my collection actually. It is set to the tune of “You Make Me Feel Like a Natural Woman” by Aretha Franklin. But don’t picture her. Picture the Fruit of the Loom commercial from the 90s. And scene:

Looking out from the morning train
I used to feel so uninspired
And when I knew I had to face another day
Lord, it made me feel so tired
Before the day I met you, life was so unkind
But you’re the key to my peace of mind

Cause you make me feel, you make me feel, you make me feel like 
an actual human 

When my soul was all buttoned up 
You came along to untie it

I didn’t know just what was wrong with me
Till you helped me to try it 
Now I’m no longer doubtful of what I’m lookin’ for
And if I make you happy I don’t need to do more

Cause you make me feel, you make me feel, you make me feel like 
an actual woman 

Gosh this song makes me wanna wear cotton underwear and high wasted jeans and drink coffee.

Bob.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ben permalink
    05-11-09 3:52 pm

    Awesome! A friend of mine does a mean version of Natural Woman when I get out and get social the gang and her on Karaoke nights (we’re actually all former coworkers at the singing-waiter place I worked at!). Seriously. She’s good. But anyway – witty lyrics! It made me go “aw” as in “good for you!” or “Good on ya!” (if we were Australian).

    So, here’s me secretly jealous of your spankin new writing gig. How does a random guy who comments on blogs get a gig like that?

    Commit 100% to it and things will only get better!

    And let me know if they are looking for more writer-types!

    A coworker compared this job to prison today. I was going to retort, but I came up empty. It was actually quite a colorful conversation.

Leave a Reply

