Skip to content

Scare Tactics

03-19-09

Today was day 3 of training. Wake up, take menu test, take tables, study, work pm shift as shadow. Just about 12 hours of army training. No bigs, right?

Wrong.

Everything was going fine around hour 8 as I was preparing to get “silverware rolling certified”. This place loves certifying things.

All’s well as the manager rolls one, and then I take my turn and mimic his actions. He studies it, rotates it 90 degrees and then out of nowhere throws it across the room at the opposite wall. Now we’re not talking a light toss. We’re talking about a fast pitch softball captain throw. Out of nowhere. It slams against the wall and hits the ground and I am speechless. Utterly speechless. He walks over, picks it up, and says, “Good. It didn’t come undone. You are now silverware certified.”

I really didn’t know whether to laugh, cry, or take my money and run.

I chose option D, none of the above, but I did tell him that if he was trying to put the fear of God in me, it worked. I also reminded him that no one puts baby in a corner.

One day left. Tomorrow I;m expecting food running, bar tests, and push ups.

Thats Why God Made Mexico,

Bob.

Listening to: 3 different waitresses say they only meant to stay for a few months and have now been there a few years. I hope I masked my horror.

On my mind:  The dude I have been training with got fired this morning after failing the menu test. Apparently no one messes with Juanita and lives to tell about it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 03-19-09 8:05 am

    omgoodness! i think all of your blogging is funny but this one made me laugh out loud this morning! i love the silverware throwing! i had to roll silverware one time but i never got “certified.”

  2. Ben permalink
    03-20-09 12:28 pm

    Ahh rollups, I won’t miss having to do those anymore.

    I only worked at one place where we actually had to take tests on the menu and stuff. And I won’t lie that I totally cheated on it. The guy who was training with me got fired too – but that was because he showed up to work on day 3 of training completely high on acid sweating profusely and all googley-eyed. I guess that hinders one’s ability to sell pizza.

    I have a hunch your manager was showing off his manliness by whipping the rollup like that. He sounds like a real winner. Maybe he wanted a compliment about his arm along the lines of “ooh with an arm like that you could start for the Cubs / QB for the Bears…” etc…

    The service industry isn’t all that bad! It’s definitely honest work.

  3. RaiulBaztepo permalink
    03-28-09 7:08 pm

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a Reply

