Skip to content

Juanita

03-16-09
Today is my first day of training at the restaurant…let’s call it Aunt Juanita’s…Juanita for short.

A few things to note:

1. I have to wear a tie. I repeat. A tie. “Hi my name is Lyndsay and I’ll be your unisexed server, can i get you something to drink?” Way to rob me of any shred of sexiness, Juanita. There go my tipz.

fear and loathing in chicago

fear and loathing in chicago

2. Because of #1, I am now dressing more nicely for Juanita than I ever did for any office job I’ve ever had. This feels backwards.

3. I had to make flashcards. I haven’t made flashcards since college. I’m studying. For a test. For a menu test. Congratulations, self, you have officially taken 4 steps back.

That is all for now. Looking forward to the amazing things that occur in customer service and hospitality situations. Please feel free to send me any “fun” ties that you see. They told me it should be “bright”. They may as well have just called it flare.

Ask me what Tacos al Carbon is…I dare you,

Bob

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mlongo permalink
    03-16-09 11:43 am

    rushbomb, you should cocktail. You don’t have to work with food or make flash cards, take tests or wear flair or clear up the goo on high chair seats. you serve up the liquor and and make WAY better tips. WAY.

  2. Mlongo permalink
    03-16-09 11:44 am

    p.s. that tie is sessssy

  3. Cheryl permalink
    03-16-09 11:46 am

    …well. at least with the tie, your momma can know for sure you are not workin’ at hooters. 🙂

  4. 03-16-09 12:25 pm

    that’s exactly what i was thinking about th tie. it’s like flair! the more bright and odd it is, the better!

  5. Ben permalink
    03-16-09 4:05 pm

    Don’t be afraid to hit up resale shops for cheap outrageous ties. I used to have to wear ties as a waiter, and I found some real bad looking ones with lots of shades of brown and orange and geometric atrocities.

    Your collarbones are hot. Let’s get married.

  6. 03-16-09 8:51 pm

    I’m in the same boat. I am looking for work in marketing/advertising/media planning but just got a job at The Cheesecake Factory. Did you know they have 44 kinds of cheesecake and over 1,000 ingredients used daily in their dishes?

    Flash cards? How about Rosetta Stone, Cheescake Edition. lol

  7. Vicky permalink
    03-17-09 2:34 pm

    My friend had to wears ties when he worked at a movie theater. His favorite? That would be his condom tie. Yup, a tie with little cartoon condoms on it. It looked similar to this: http://cgi.ebay.com/RENE-CHAGAL-CONDOMS-HANDMADE-SILK-NECKTIE-TIE-_W0QQitemZ110362959189QQcmdZViewItem

    He got away with it because the condoms looked like little colorful ghosts. People would actually ask about his “ghost tie.” If you can get away with something like that at “Juanita’s,” then go for it!

Leave a Reply

