Skip to content

Brother for Sale

02-24-09

Wow people, the hits just keep on coming. A woman in India was arrested for attempting to sell her baby to a rickshaw driver for $130 dollars (or 6,500 rupees for those of you as obsessed as I am with the word ‘rupees’ after seeing Slumdog).

 A few irreverant thoughts:

1. If that’s the going rate for babies, maybe now the Octuplet mom can get off of foodstamps and/or save up for more plastic surgery.

2. I Kinda wish The Jonas Brother’s mom had sold them to rickshaw drivers.

3.  Maybe I should be a rickshaw driver

 

Sun’s gonna rise,

temp.

Listening to: Myself whistle “Mama Mia”. Not the best way to make friends around here.

On my mind: I’ll give anyone a quarter if you can name the reference in this post’s title. Except you, Emma.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Tenille permalink
    02-24-09 10:06 am

    I don’t know why I know this-kind of embarrassing…the Olsen twins’ song?? If not, delete this and pretend it was never sent-Lol.
    I too wish that the Jonas’ brothers mother would have been hard up for cash as well-good call.
    T

  2. meg permalink
    02-24-09 10:12 am

    brother for sale, only 50 cents.

    mary-kate and ashley olson, pre-homeless look.

  3. Anon. permalink
    02-24-09 10:14 am

    “Brother for Sale… only 50 cents.” First, I love your blog. And now I’m going to abandon absolutely all of my dignity and say that I tragically used to LOVE Mary Kate & Ashley Olsen’s “My First Video” in the early ’90s and I know they had a song on there called “Brother for Sale” where they kept knocking down the price they were trying to sell their brother for. Of course, just like every episode of “Full House,” lessons were learned and they realized they just couldn’t sell him. Ah, the early-mid ’90s…

    …hoping that was actually your reference and I didn’t just share that kind of information for no reason…

  4. 02-24-09 10:17 am

    Mary Kate & Ashley Olsen’s first music video?

  5. 02-24-09 10:39 am

    I believe you are referencing one of my favorite Shel Silverstein poems with your title. What a classic!

    love the blog…found you through my cousin—keep it comin’, please!

  6. harpwhitt permalink
    02-24-09 11:45 am

    Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen! I was totally a member of their fan club! (I’m 21 now) Best movies ever though! I wish I still had them – I’m pretty sure I would watch them on my sick days.
    Love your blog!

  7. 02-24-09 1:54 pm

    duh rush…Mary Kate and Ashley!! I lived with Carrie burton wayyy too long not to know that! Your blog keeps me thoroughly entertained while I nanny btw…

  8. Rachel#2 permalink
    02-24-09 2:48 pm

    Mary K and Ashley Olsen!

  9. Sam permalink
    02-24-09 4:37 pm

    Ashley and I use to sing the other Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen song,

    ” I am the cute one, she’s just my sister!” “I’m sorry!”

  10. 02-24-09 11:27 pm

    Where the sidewalk ends?

  11. Mlongo permalink
    02-25-09 9:11 am

    MARY KATE AND ASHLEY!

    What’s that you say?

    I’m TEN posts too late!?!!

  12. WildThang permalink
    02-25-09 9:21 am

    Mary Kate “I need a steak” & Ashley Olsen…. when do I get my money?

  13. Lauren Fulmer permalink
    02-25-09 9:29 am

    Isn’t “Brother for Sale” a Olsen twins movie from like the mid-90s?

  14. moriah permalink
    02-25-09 12:48 pm

    mary kate and ashley… i still own the cassette tape. i also own “i am the cute one.” another great hit.

Leave a Reply

