Skip to content

Something To Believe In

02-02-09

Ding ding. This is a showdown between two of the world’s most reliable future forecasters:

Magic 8 Ball vs. Punxsutawney Phil.

First up; Magic 8 Ball:

Bio: Created in 1946, this mysteriously magical device can predict the outcome of any situation. Simply whisper a question, gently shake the 8 ball and BOOM: fate is revealed. From “Don’t count on it” to “Outlook good”, the 8 ball is the #1 go-to in times of crisis. Just ask former Pres. Bush. Or me in 8th grade.

Next up, Punxsutawney Phil:

Bio: Since 1877, Phil has been seeing or not seeing his shadow on Feb 2nd in Punxsutawney, PA. Over 13,000 people gathered this year to witness the event. More often than not, Phil sees his shadow (97 times he has, 15 times he has not and a mysterious 9 years are unaccounted for). I vote we start holding Phil responsible for bigger forecasts. Had we woken him up earlier in the year he probably would’ve told us about the recession. Lesson: learned.

So who wins? I think it might be a tie. At a time of ridiculous uncertainty, I’m taking all the help I can get.

Hope for the future

Listening to: Steeler nation going bananas.

On my mind: Is drinking a Capri Sun at work unprofessional?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 02-02-09 10:25 am

    A Capri Sun is a totally exceptable beverage for professionals at work. I mean, if I walked into my VP’s office and he was drinking a Capri Sun I would think, “You’re sooooo cool!”

    And did I miss something or when did Prez Bush use a Magic 8 Ball?

  2. Rachel#1 permalink
    02-02-09 11:46 am

    Please come temp for us in Arlington, TX. We love your blog!

  3. Rachel#2 permalink
    02-02-09 12:04 pm

    My cubemate and I LOOOOOOOOOOOOVE reading your blog.
    I can hear her laughing from the other side of my foam wall

  4. 02-02-09 1:03 pm

    um , excuse me lindsay…i need more than a couple of blog posts to get me through the day. please write more. 🙂

  5. 02-02-09 1:03 pm

    or should i say, you’re so cool 8)

  6. 02-02-09 6:21 pm

    i drank a Capri Sun last night for the first time in a long time at a Super Bowl party.

    JT is right. Prez Bush never used a magic 8 ball. He always ALWAYS called Miss Cleo.

  7. rushbomb permalink*
    02-03-09 9:31 am

    I rediscovered my Capri Sun love at a superbowl party too. Wow. A bunch of people across the country had the right idea.

Leave a Reply

