Skip to content

867-5309

02-02-09

ebay: when hard work doesn't cut it anymore

I think I’m finally catching onto something. The best things to sell right now are not even things at all. They’re intangeables. Just when you thought American’s had stopped spending altogether, think again. Toilet paper may not be turning a profit, but the following idiots have somehow found a way to make a sale.

There’s the well known story of that floozy, i mean woman, who is selling her virginity on ebay (not endoresed by Bob Loblaw or Associates) and the bids are ridiculously high. (P.s. She’s a women’s studies major planning on going into family and marriage counseling. I wonder how “Sold soul/innocence on world wide web” is going to look on her resume).

And now, some douche, i mean dude in Jersey is about to make thousands of dollars selling his phone number. That’s right, the infamous “867-5309” of Tommy Tutone 80s fame, is up for sale on ebay. Right now the bid is at 5 grand and is expected to reach up to 40,000 dollars by bid ending.

If these two shmoes can make bank off of things like that, I need to start brainstorming on my invisible moneymaker…

Still trying to be an inventor or treasure hunter,

temp.

Other Notable Ideas: Sell yourself as a nemesis–I saw an ad posted on CL where a guy is willing to pay $350 for someone to “Steal my parking space, knock my coffee over, trip me when Im running to catch the train and occasionaly whisper in my ear, “Ahha, we meet again”. That kind of thing. Just keep me on my toes.”  I’m not sure if I wanna be his nemesis or girlfriend.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 02-04-09 4:24 pm

    Actually it’s amazing that anyone is able to sell anything on eBay anymore with all of the changes they’ve made in the last year.

    I know that selling on eBay sounds like it may be a good way to make money, but trust me it is a pain in the ass. Selling virginity sounds the same as trying to sell a body part and I know that eBay doesn’t allow that. Someone tried to sell some used chewing gum about a year ago that was allegidly chewed by Britney Spears – eBay killed the auction because they said the gum contained DNA, therefore it was in violation of the “no body Parts” rule. Same with the major league pitcher who tried to sell the bone chips surgically removed from his elbow – they won’t allow it.

    It’s getting so that the only things that sell of eBay any more are either from the big companies who have overstock (Disney, Wal-Mart, Alienware) or someone selling the odd miraculous artifact. A grilled cheese sandwich with the image of the Virgin Mary? Around $24,000! Slice open a tomato and see the image of Jesus in the fruit? Yup, that sold. How about a spoon that just came out of the dishwasher and has an image of Jesus on the metal? Yup, that too.

    It makes me want to go out and toast something – just in case.

Leave a Reply

