Skip to content

No More Tears

01-13-09
tags:
johnson_johnson_baby_shampoo

No, I'm not sure why I got a picture of the chinese version but yes, I like it.

Well, folks, the hits just keep on coming. I had a great moment two nights ago and I’d like to share it with you all.

Scene: Church (seriously.)

Setting: Making small talk around a table.

Players: 2 guys and me (and a pizza shop. anyone remember that show?)

So there we are…just throwin the norm back and forth…the how was your week and what’s new and how do you guys know each other, etc.(One guy at the table was an acquaintance and one was a stranger). Enter: awkwardness. Guy one, we’ll call him Bob, says “Someone smells incredible”. I reply jokingly, “Oh ha it must be me”. And he goes, “I think it is” <leans in and actually sniffs my neck>. “Yep its you!”. I manage to mutter, “Ummm thanks.” and Bob says “It reminds me of that shampoo from when we were kids.” <me giving him a blank stare…slightly horrified>. “You know,” he continued, “The one where you could get it in your eyes and it didn’t sting.”….Maestro, cue the crickets…..”Ummm…BABY SHAMPOO?!” I ask after a long pause. “Yeah yeah! Thats the one!”, says Bob, excited that I got the reference. Not at all certain of what to say I relpy, “Did you really just tell me I smell like Johnson &Johnson baby shampoo? I have no idea how to take that”. Then, in what must’ve been an effort to prove/redeem himself he nudges his buddy and goes, “Smell her, Angel” (and yes, his name really was Angel). I interject immediately with “Ha ummm no one is smelling me anymore.”(which should be a rule of thumb in general). Luckily someone approached the table at that moment which gave the three of us the opportunity to try and move past that trainwreck …but I have a few take-aways from the experience:

      1. Dudes, never tell a girl she smells like your childhood. 2. No wonder my dating life has been stagnant: I smell like commitment and fatherhood. 3. If we can’t sniff each other in church, where can we?

At least it wasn’t baby wipes,

temp

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosie permalink
    01-15-09 5:14 pm

    I know who BOB is!crazy he, totally digs u!

  2. Patrick permalink
    01-16-09 1:53 pm

    I LOVE YOUR BLOGS…..hahaha!

  3. 01-16-09 2:47 pm

    OMG you are hilarious! So glad I found this blog / website! It’s making my slow morning at work bearable. I work in an office in CT. This office life is new to me. So the eccentricities are funny and ridiculous all at the same time.

  4. 01-18-09 3:28 am

    LOL hahahha hilarious!!!

Leave a Reply

