Skip to content

My Ego is a Peach

09-30-09

…it bruises easily.

I know I seem super tough on the outside. Almost a Madonna-meets-Indigo Girls-meets-Demi Moore in GI Jane-tough.

But really I’m just a softy.

So when we were hanging around our Safari campsite and our cook Stephen made the following comment, I almost packed up and shipped myself back to America. Stat.

“She’s like Mr. Bean!”

Yep.

Mr. Bean.

The unsightly British man who, if I remember correctly, doesn’t even talk in his movies…just grunts. Is he even remotely funny? Any Bean fans out there?

I mean, I had a feeling my sense of humor wouldn’t translate in Africa but I never imagined it would come to this.

Stephen was laughing so hard he was crying and he kept repeating, “Mr. Bean…Mr Bean”

He may as well have tarred and feathered me and left me out as lion food.

Please glance upon the below image of Mr. Bean and tell me how you would respond if the comparison was made.

And of course Clare and Fulms could not stop laughing and have spent the rest of the trip reminding me of the uncanny similarities between us.

Stephen told me he thought I was so funny that I should stay in Kenya and he would be my business manager. I politely declined when I imagined the caption that would run underneath my press releases: American Female Mr. Bean Impersonator Delights Kenyan Audiences.

Aannnnnd Im out.

3 days till I’m home…I’m hoping I can round things out with a Carrot Top or Roseanne comparison.

Fingers Crossed,

Bob.

Listening to: God Must Have Spent a Little More Time on You” by N*Sync playing at the cyber

On my mind: I’d rather not have a perfume in my name at all then have it be selling at Walgreens or Walmart.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 09-30-09 8:42 am

    Which Madonna are you referring to?

    The 80s, 90′s, or 00 version? Shes always reinventing

  2. Ryan permalink
    10-01-09 1:06 pm

    HAHAH My friends tell me that I LOOK like Mr. Bean. How do you think that makes me feel. Not so good!

  3. 10-03-09 10:12 am

    I think that same actor played on Rat Race..I never was a fan of Mr. Bean, as in, I never even stopped flipping through channels to check it out. I don’t even think our cable company carried it because it was so bad..But I check for you and this blog!! Keep writin’!

  4. abby permalink
    10-18-09 2:54 pm

    um LOL. i am seriously dying over here. that is freaking hilarious! you are a really pretty bean at least.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

