Skip to content

Don’t Hassle Me I’m Local

09-04-09

One of the joys of living in this blessed city is the plethora of people that come visit you.

From old high school friends to distant relatives to baby’s daddies (just seeing if you were paying attention), everyone and their mom (seriously, they bring their moms) makes plans to visit Chicago at some point in the year.

And then we get to strap on our fanny packs and play tour guide.

This weekend is no exception and my older sister Meredith is coming into town to visit Emma and me.

I have posted a few things in the past that gives some insight into the psyche which is Meredith “Patron” Rush. (Nickname derived from a family function where Meredith made Emma and me take shots of Patron because she “couldn’t handle the fam right now”).

She lives in South Beach, she loves Gucci. She is an absolute riot. And we love her.

But with any visitor, there comes a list of expectations for their Chicago experience. Which means that to my dismay I have been to the Sears Tower and Art Institute and Navy Pier more than I care to divulge.

The following is the tall order that Emma got in a text from our sister about what she wants to do this weekend.

Really see the city. Mani pedis for all us b*&%$#s. You have a Chinatown? Yoga. Go down by the lake. Cubs game. Dive bar. One really nice dinner. Meet boy. Fall in love.

Shouldn’t be a problem. We come from a long line of multi taskers.

I wonder if there is anyone who has the name Manuel Labor?,

Bob.

Listening to: The 500 Days of Summer soundtrack that is changing my life the same way the Garden State soundtrack changed my life in ’05

On my mind:Me likey crepes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 09-06-09 9:37 pm

    Hi, Lyndsey, I’m Lindsey. This is my first time commenting on your blog, but I’ve been reading since the Great MSNBC Plug. I must say that reading today’s post is really creepy. I’m from North Alabama, now living in Chicago. I’m a freelance writer, too. I have a sister named Meredith. No joke. Creepy.
    I’ll be praying for you and Fulmerazzi as you travel to Kenya. Keep up the good writing!
    Lindsey D.

  2. Jamie Tussey permalink
    09-09-09 9:20 am

    i felt the same way when i lived in Connecticut. I was the tour guide for NYC. I have been to the Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, WTC Ground Zero , and Rockefellar Center more than I ever wanted to.

  3. HeatherNUmber1 permalink
    12-01-09 8:44 pm

    I stumbled across your blog randomly but that text is amazing and hilarious. Tall order indeed. Or quick pitch for a rom-com.

  4. 12-03-10 2:56 am

    you could just listen to the beat of those high bass from Rap songs, i just like rap songs `-*

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

